Upgrade

Technology Blog, by: David Monaghan.

Free Web Based List Organizer Software: RememberTheMilk.com.

Posted by David on January 3, 2006

Remember The Milk is a free web service I stumbled upon a couple of weeks or so ago while looking for free web services to both replace applications on my computer and to provide functionality currently unavailable from free desktop based software. I ended up finding Remember The Milk among many other free services listed on Nedwolf's site where you can find a comprehensive list of free web based software organized into categories of functionality. I was initially impressed by what I saw on RememberTheMilk.com, but now I have to tell you to give it a try, especially if you're looking for something to send you real reminders about events on your list.

The list items on Remember The Milk can have a due time, and in your settings you can configure times which you are notified before and during the event. The great thing about this isn't just the events, but you can now be reminded not just in your email but in your instant message program (I believe it is only for Google Talk at the moment, luckily that's all I use anyhow). Some may wonder why this is such a great thing, especially just for a list, but trust me there is more to come in the future of applications like this. When coupled with a good address book (or contact organizer as I like to call it) and a good calendar an application like this can automatically remind you of all types of events, and do it no matter where you are (that is when all IM protocols are supported, especially those accessible through cellular devices).

Now what I need is a good free web based calendar and contact organizer which support ical and vcard! Let me know if you have the solution please!

Leave a Reply

 
